Collaborate in a Collaboration Server project

NVivo Collaboration Server allows multiple users to work on NVivo projects at the same time.

It uses Windows user accounts to provide authenticated, role-based access, so there is no need to manage users inside NVivo.

Each user can set their own NVivo application preferences, even though they are working in the same project. Application options

Everyone working in a shared project must be using the same version of NVivo.

If you are working in more than one team, you may need more than one version of NVivo installed on your computer to support projects in different versions. You will need a valid license for each version of NVivo that you are using.

NVivo Collaboration Server supports team members working in a shared project using different NVivo editions (e.g. NVivo 12 Pro and Plus editions). A project can be opened in any edition of NVivo, but unsupported features will not be accessible.

User profiles

In a NVivo Collaboration Server project, your project user profile is created from your Windows user account—it is not based on your default NVivo user profile. All the work you do in the project is tracked against your project user profile.

How access to projects is controlled

Your access to a project is controlled by the Project Owner (usually the person who created the project). The Project Owner can add you to a project user group that allows you an appropriate level of access to the project.

There are three project user groups in a NVivo Collaboration Server project—Readers, Contributors and Project Owners. Each project user group has different permissions for the project. Control access to a Collaboration Server project

How NVivo Collaboration Server manages conflicts between users

'Edit mode' ensures that team members do not make conflicting changes to content. You must have a file open and be in edit mode if you want to modify the content—for example, edit the text in a document file, or add transcript rows to a video. When you have a file open in edit mode other users can view the file but they cannot edit, code, annotate, or link the content. Edit mode also prevents conflicting changes to maps and reports.

Users can annotate, code and link files without being in edit mode—any conflicts are resolved by NVivo Collaboration Server. For example, if two users try to edit an existing annotation, the first user to complete their changes is successful. The second user's changes are discarded, and the screen is refreshed to show latest version of the annotation.

Similarly, if two users try to change project properties, the first user to complete their changes is successful. The second user's changes are discarded, and the screen is refreshed to show latest version of the project item.

A Project Owner can choose to open a Collaboration Server project exclusively, locking out all other users. This is necessary when importing structure or content from another project. It can also be useful if you are making large-scale changes and want to be certain you can reverse the changes using the undo function.

When do I see other people's changes to the project?

When you are working in a Collaboration Server project NVivo automatically refreshes your view of the project as you work so that you can see your team members' latest changes.

When NVivo is 'idle' the workspace does not automatically refresh. NVivo refreshes your workspace whenever you perform common actions such as navigating to a different folder or opening a file or code in Detail View.

To manually refresh your NVivo workspace, press F5.

When to open the project exclusively (locking out other users)

You might want to open the project exclusively if you want to make large-scale changes to the project. In a shared project, you cannot undo recent actions when other users have made conflicting changes. Open the project exclusively if you need to be certain you can undo your changes.

You must open the project exclusively if you want to import content or structure from another project.